Well thanks to you nine Republicans who skipped out on such an important vote. I’m in the process of trying to find out who those nine were that had something so important to do that before the end of the legislation session year they left early.

Here’s an update from Nashville Post

The long and short – no Republicans voted no (and Speaker Williams voted yes, also), two Dems voted yes (Judy Barker and Eddie Bass).

Republicans Dale Ford, Curry Todd and Donna Rowland PNVed (present but not voting), as did Dems Stratton Bone, Mike McDonald, Eddie Yokley and Kent Coleman.

Absent were Republicans Jim Coley, Vince Dean, David Hawk, Steve McManus, Dennis Roach, and Charles Sargent and Democrats Bill Harmon, Larry Miller, and John Mark Windle.

Six Republicans Missed House Vote on ‘Health Freedom Act

Via the AP, below is the 44-39 House roll call vote on the Tennessee Health Freedom Act that fell six votes short of passage late Wednesday night. Notable is that nine Republicans did not vote on the measure apparently most because they had departed before the late night session ended.

Only two Democrats, Reps. Judy Barker of Union City and Eddie Bass of Prospect, voted for the measure. Three Democrats did not vote.

Votes Wednesday as the House, on a 44-39 vote, failed to gain the minimum 50 votes needed to pass an attempted compromise bill to allow Tennesseans to opt out of the federal health care law. Voting yes were 41 Republicans, two Democrats and one independent. Voting no were 39 Democrats.


Mike Bell, Riceville

Harry Brooks, Knoxville

Kevin Brooks, Cleveland

Stacey Campfield, Knoxville

Joe Carr, Lascassas

Glen Casada, Franklin

Jim Cobb, SpringCity

Vance Dennis, Savannah

Bill Dunn, Knoxville

Jimmy Eldridge, Jackson

Joshua Evans, Greenbrier

Chad Faulkner, Luttrell

Richard Floyd, Chattanooga

Curtis Halford, Dyer

Michael Harrison, Sneedville

Beth Harwell, Nashville

Ryan Haynes, Knoxville

Joey Hensley, Hohenwald

Matthew Hill, Jonesborough

Curtis Johnson, Clarksville

Phillip Johnson, Pegram

Ron Lollar, Bartlett

Jon Lundberg, Bristol

Susan Lynn, Mt. Juliet

Debra Maggart, Hendersonville

Pat Marsh, Shelbyville

Judd Matheny, Tullahoma

Jimmy Matlock, Lenoir City

Joe McCord, Maryville

Gerald McCormick, Chattanooga

Steve McDaniel, Parkers Crossroads

Richard Montgomery, Sevierville

Jason Mumpower, Bristol

Frank Niceley, Strawberry Plains

Bob Ramsey, Maryville

Barrett Rich, Somerville

Tony Shipley, Kingsport

Eric Swafford, Pikeville

Eric Watson, Cleveland

Terri Lynn Weaver, Lancaster

Mark White, Memphis

Speaker Kent Williams, Elizabethton


Dale Ford, Jonesborough

Donna Rowland, Murfreesboro

Curry Todd, Collierville


Judy Barker, Union City

Eddie Bass, Prospect


Joe Armstrong, Knoxville

Willie Borchert, Camden

Tommie Brown, Chattanooga

Karen Camper, Memphis

Ty Cobb, Columbia

Barbara Cooper, Memphis

Charles Curtiss, Sparta

John Deberry, Memphis

Lois DeBerry, Memphis

Joanne Favors, Chattanooga

Dennis Ferguson, Midtown

Henry Fincher, Cookeville

Craig Fitzhugh, Ripley

George Fraley, Winchester

Brenda Gilmore, Nashville

Jim Hackworth, Clinton

G. A. Hardaway, Memphis

Sherry Jones, Nashville

Ulysses Jones Jr., Memphis

Mike Kernell, Memphis

John Litz, Morristown

Mark Maddox, Dresden

Gary Moore, Joelton

Jimmy Naifeh, Covington

Gary Odom, Nashville

Joe Pitts, Clarksville

Mary Pruitt, Nashville

Jeanne Richardson, Memphis

Johnny Shaw, Bolivar

David Shepard, Dickson

Janis Sontany, Nashville

Mike Stewart, Nashville

John Tidwell, New Johnsonville

Harry Tindell, Knoxville

Joe Towns, Memphis

Johnnie Turner, Memphis

Mike Turner, Nashville

Ben West, Nashville

Les Winningham, Huntsville


Stratton Bone, Lebanon

Kent Coleman, Murfreesboro

Mike McDonald, Portland

Eddie Yokley, Greeneville


Jim Coley, Bartlett

Vince Dean, East Ridge

David Hawk, Greeneville

Bill Harmon, Dunlap

Steve McManus, Cordova

Larry Miller, Memphis

Dennis Roach, Rutledge

Charles Sargent, Franklin

John Mark Windle, Livingston

Humphrey on the Hill @ knoxnews.com