30 signers of March 4, 2013 Letter from Bridenstine & Huelskamp to Boehner & Cantor Urging Defunding of Obamacare in Any Appropriations Bill:

16 Voting “No” on the Rule for Continuing Resolution, HR 933, 3/6/2013

14 Voting “No” on

Passage of the Continuing Resolution, HR 933, 3/6/2013

Amash (MI) Amash Amash
Barr (KY)
Black (TN)
Blackburn (TN)
Bridenstine (OK) Bridenstine Bridenstine
Brooks (AL)
Broun (GA) Broun Broun
DeSantis (FL) DeSantis
DesJarlais (TN)
Duncan (TN)
Duncan (SC)
Fleming (LA) Fleming
Franks (AZ)
Gingrey (GA) Gingrey Gingrey
Gohmert (TX) Gohmert Gohmert
Hanna (NY)
Hudson (NC)
Huelskamp (KS) Huelskamp
Jones (NC) Jones
Kingston (GA) Kingston (GA)
LaMalfa (CA)
Lamborn (CO)
Massie (KY) Massie Massie
McClintock (CA) McClintock McClintock
Meadows (NC)
Pearce (NM) Pearce
Posey  (FL)
Rohrabacher (CA)
Rothfus (PA)
Salmon (AZ) Salmon Salmon
Schweikert (AZ)
Stewart (UT)
Stockman (TX) Stockman
Wilson (SC)
Yoder (KS)
Yoho (FL) Yoho

(And once again, like clockwork, the Republicans cave in….So by looking at this, Lamar Alexander and Bob Corker voted YES for the Continuing Resolution. Both of these guys need to go next election.)

Before the vote, Democrats proposed an amendment to the continuing resolution that would replace the sequester cuts with tax increases and alternative cuts. Their bill was opposed by every Republican and also three Democrats from conservative districts: Reps. John Barrow (Ga.), Jim Matheson (Utah) and Collin Peterson (Minn.).

Now the CR moves on to the Senate.  Ted Cruz and Mike Lee have taken up the campaign to defund Obamacare, as noted in these pages.

Sad, only 14 Republicans vote against the Continuing Resolution and DID NOT defund Obamacare in the CR.


House Leadership forced the continuing resolution to come to the House floor under a “closed rule,” meaning that debate was limited and no amendments were allowed to address the defunding of the President’s health care law. Among the missed opportunities due to this closed-door vote were the amendments prepared by Congressmen Bridenstine (OK-1), Huelskamp (KS-1), and DeSantis (FL-6), which would have removed all funding for ObamaCare implementation from the continuing resolution.

Sixteen bold Republicans in the House stayed true to fiscally conservative principle and voted against the “no amendments” rule today, including: Justin Amash (MI-3), Mo Brooks (AL-5), Jim Bridenstine (OK-1), Paul Broun (GA-10), John Fleming (LA-4), Phil Gingrey (GA-11), Louie Gohmert (TX-1), Tim Huelskamp (KS-1), Walter Jones (NC-3), Jack Kingston (GA-1), Thomas Massie (KY-4), Tom McClintock (CA-4), Stevan Pearce (NM-2), Dana Rohrabacher (CA-48), Matt Salmon (AZ-5), and Ted Yoho (FL-3).